Victorian Underwater Hockey Championships

Victorian Underwater Hockey Championships were held on Sunday 21st of July at the Handbury Centre in Geelong.

Warragul, Wizards and Wonthaggi all fielded A-grade teams, with Ballarat, Geelong, Monash, Wizards and Wonthaggi all entering into the B-grade competition.

All players were treated to a fantastic day of hockey, with some close battles fought in both divisions.

In the end, both A-grade and B-grade were decided on percentage, with Warragul very narrowly edging out Wizards to claim the A-grade trophy, whilst Wizards held off Ballarat to claim the title in B-grade.

Results summary

A-grade champions: Warragul

A-grade runners up: Wizards

B-grade champions: Wizards

B-grade runners up: Ballarat

A-grade MVP (male): Todd Canavan (Warragul)

A-grade MVP (female): Nina Barry-Macaulay (Wonthaggi)

B-grade MVP (male): Phil McDougall (Ballarat)

B-grade MVP (female): Sarina Lissenburg (Wizards)

Junior encouragement award: Kaiah Jones (Wonthaggi)

Leading goal-scorer (A-grade): Sandor Duis (Warragul), Callum Wishart (Wonthaggi), Craig Thomas (Warragul) 3 goals each.

Leading goal-scorer (B-grade): Phil McDougall (Ballarat) 7 goals.

Thank you to True Blue Underwater Hockey supplies for providing B-grade and junior prizes. Perpetual trophy and A-grade trophies were made by Kevin Chisholm.

The VUHC would like to thank everyone who pitched in and helped out on the day, including all those who helped put together the BBQ at the end of the day and the club officials who did such a good job at getting teams together.

Special thanks also to our chief referee, Graham Henderson, along with all the VUHC referees and all those took part in team reffing on the day.

Also thanks to Stu McCallum and the Geelong Underwater Hockey club for supplying the goal trays and Stu Scott and the Wizards club for supplying pucks and refs gloves.

Hope to see everyone back next year!