Victorian players turned out in large numbers for the Victorian Underwater Hockey State Championships held 13 November 2022 at the Handbury Centre, Geelong Grammar. 

A diverse group of young and established players traveled to the event which started with a fast and highly skilled scratch game between Under 19 and Under 15 Victorian team players.

A tightly contested club based round robin tournament then followed. Regional clubs were well represented at the event with clubs from Geelong, Ballarat and Wonthaggi all fielding teams. Maribyrnong, Monash University and a Victorian Under 19 team were the other competitors aiming to claim the Victorian State Champion team shield for 2022.

It was pleasing to see results throughout the day so extremely close. The Maribyrnong team managed to book its place in the final after going through the round robin undefeated. Geelong, Monash University and the U19 Junior teams were extremely competitive throughout the day however, it took the final round robin game of the day (between Wonthaggi and Ballarat) to decide Maribyrnong’s opponent. Wonthaggi’s 1-0 win booked them a place in the final.

In a highly entertaining yet nail biting affair, Wonthaggi prevailed by a single goal (1-0) over Maribyrnong in the final. In a sea-sawing affair, young and emerging players faced off against the established crew.

Belinda Watts-Keeley (Wonthaggi) and Bruce Higgins (Ballarat) were named as the competition’s female and male Most Valuable Players. Hamish Scothern earned the gong for the most prolific goal scorer while Caden Milnes took out the Junior MVP. Both hail from the Wonthaggi club but played for the Victorian Under 19 team at the tournament.

The winning Wonthaggi Team: Rear: Romy Keppel, Mike Milnes, Dave Barry-Macaulay, Ethan Milnes; Centre: Lucy Perdomo, Belinda Keeley-Watts, Nina Barry-Macaulay, Kirsteen “Chooky” Reid, Rees Quilford. Front: Tamsyn Walsh, Felix Maund, Will Stein.